GitHub is a popular hosting service for software development. With it, developers can work collaboratively on a project and improve their skills by collaborating with others who have similar interests.
GitHub is an online repository and hosting service that allows users to store computer code files. The website’s account creation process requires users to provide a username and password to access their account, as well as upload pictures or files, store computer code or programs to share them with other developers, create wikis of different projects, add attachments such as images or documents, and attach comments to other people’s uploads.
Before You delete Github account, back up any data you want to keep on your computer. Create a copy of all your repositories, wikis, private forks, issues and pull requests owned by your account. If you are the only one who owns an organization then at first you should transfer ownership to another person. Alternatively, if there are multiple owners of the organization remove yourself from the organization before deleting account.
How To Delete Github Account?
- To delete your account on GitHub, go to https://github.com/settings/account and click the Account link on the left side of the page.
- Scroll down to the bottom of the page and click Delete this account.
- A confirmation popup will appear, submit your username/email, and type delete my account in the given field.
- Finally, click Cancel plan and delete this account on github.
Things To Remember
When you delete github account, all your repositories, forks of private repositories, wikis, issues, pull requests and pages associated with you will be closed. Your comments in other people’s repositories will not be removed. They will remain as part of your Ghost profile. Github will automatically stop billing you for your account when it closes. Your email address associated with your account will be available for use on a new account.
The deletion of a GitHub repository via the Admin panel does not clean up any Git repositories on developer or DevOps PCs. If a user wants to erase a user instance of a GitHub repository. They would have to manually remove all related files and folders from their physical system.
If you change your GitHub username, all your repositories and files will automatically update. Once you have update your profile information, however, you will not be able to login or create new repositories until your account verify with a password reset.