It is common for internet users to open numerous accounts, both to chat with friends and find dates, and to access content. Dashlane reports that the average number of online accounts per user is over 200.
People often create numerous accounts on different websites to enjoy the Internet thoroughly. While creating an account is easy, remembering passwords or deleting unused accounts can be difficult.
Some websites and cloud-based applications offer the option to permanently delete your account, but most users do not know that this action is only temporary.
When you delete your online account through app settings, you only temporarily delete it. The account remains in the database for social media or other applications. In some cases, they ask users to send a support email instead of deleting it.
You may want to delete inaccessible accounts or recover and even log into your deleted accounts at times. To do this, you can compose a support email.
How To Use Email Sample To Delete Old Account?
It is important to maintain the security of your online accounts. Old accounts make your private information available on the internet and allow online predators to access it. Most of us often use weaker passwords to create accounts despite being aware that weaker passwords are easily breakable.
This makes your old account vulnerable to cyber criminals, who can steal your identity or sell your private information (such as your phone number and email address) to other companies. Credential stuffing is a significant security concern.
It’s a form of automated cyber attack in which criminals use stolen account credentials to gain unauthorized access to user accounts by attempting logins through large-scale automated processes. To protect yourself from this attack vector, you should review all of your online accounts and delete any that have not been used in the past six months.
Write Email To Delete Your Online Account:
Here is a sample email template you can send to customer support to request that your account be removed from their database.
SUBJECT: Request to delete my account from (Website/Application)
Dear Customer Support, I have an account in your database associated with the name ……………. and the email address ………………..
I would like to request that you please delete my account from your database. I will not be using the account again and therefore no longer wish to receive any information or updates from you.
Please remember the following when composing an email: The name, email address, and phone number you submit in the email must be linked to the account you want to delete. This will verify your ownership of the account.
To prevent fraud, most customer services require you to send an email request from the primary email address that you used to create the account.
In some cases, the support team will ask you to answer security questions in order to verify your request to delete an account.If you did not use a mobile number to link your account, you would not be required to submit your phone number.In order to permanently delete your account or recover a deleted account, select one of the following options:
Account Deletion Process Steps:
- You will request a deletion of your account by sending an email to the company.
- A support staff member will validate your identity and cross-check data with the company’s internal database;
- If they find a match, they will initiate the deletion process.
- The team will send you an email notifying you about the initiation of the deletion and ask for final approval or security questions
- After you give consent to delete your account, the team will delete it and notify you about the successful deletion.
Are companies obligated to delete personal information about you once you remove your account from their application? It is common for companies in the United States to maintain customer profiles in their system, even after removing the account from their application. While most companies are obligated to provide their users the option to delete their accounts, some companies are not required to do so.
Recover Old Account:
If you have forgotten your password, you can recover it by clicking on “Forgot Password” on the login panel or by sending an email requesting the support team to retrieve your login detail. When you send an email, be sure to include the email address or phone number associated with your account.
Upon submission of an email to the customer service center, the request will be reviewed by a support staff member as soon as possible. Most requests are reviewed within 12 to 24 hours. Assuming no complications arise, your account should be deleted in 12 to 24 hours.